Cardiovascular Care Program Certification Standards



A. Introduction

The HCAC Cardiovascular Care Program Certification was developed to recognize accredited hospitals that have developed comprehensive programs to provide high quality of care and services to patients with cardiovascular diseases.

The Health Care Accreditation Council (HCAC) has taken the initiative to produce standards that help facilitate the development of comprehensive, quality cardiovascular care programs to improve cardiovascular health. Rooted in prevention, collaboration, patient-centered care and self- management, we believe that these standards will help drive change in the way that cardiovascular care and services are provided.

B. Aim

To embed high quality and reliable cardiac patient care and services.

C. Framework and guiding principles of HCAC Hospital Standards

The standards are designed for organized cardiovascular care programs that are managing persons over the age of 18 who have been diagnosed with cardiovascular related diseases. In addition to acute care interventions, the standards promote community awareness, identifying individuals at risk and prevention strategies.

D. Eligible Institutions

Any accredited healthcare institution that offers a comprehensive cardiovascular care program and performs minimum cardiac catherization is eligible for seeking Cardiovascular Care Program Certification.

E. Organization of the standards Manual

The Cardiovascular Care Program Certification standards are intended to provide health care providers with the components of cardiovascular care to evaluate the quality of care.

Cluster 1: Program Management

  • Program Structure and Management
  • Community Mobilization
  • Patient rights 


Cluster 2: Clinical Management

  • Patient assessment
  • Patient care 


Cluster 3: Self-Management

  • Ancillary Services
  • Pharmaceutical services
  • Laboratory services
  • Cardiac diagnostic tests
  • Radiology services


Cluster 5: Staff Performance

Cluster 6: Quality and Safety

  • Quality improvement and patient safety
  • Information management


description ...

Get The Standards